first_imgDONEGAL Youth Council has voted in a new Mayor who will lead the group over the coming year. Bridget McDyer, from Rosses Community School in Dungloe, will be the chairperson of the Youth Council for the coming 12 months, ably assisted by Deputy Mayors Aoife Gillespie of St Columba’s College Stranorlar and Conor Farrell of St Eunans College.Bridget MyDyer is hoping the group can continue to influence positive change in the county in 2016. “It means so much to me. It feels like the people in our region are so isolated and their opinions aren’t often heard so being Mayor it means I can give a voice to those young people. I also get to keep working with an amazing group of people from all over the county to achieve the most we can from all our projects and highlight important issues for young people,” she said.Donegal Youth Council had a great year last year under the guidance of Mayor Eamon Conaghan from Deele College, which saw the group win a number of awards both locally and nationally to recognise their ongoing work on a range of topics.Donegal Youth Council is funded by Donegal County Council, HSE Health Promotion and the Department of Children and Youth Affairs and aims to provide young people with opportunities to identify, prioritise and work on topics and projects which have been identified by the wider youth population of the county.NEW MAYOR FOR DONEGAL YOUTH COUNCIL was last modified: January 17th, 2016 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window) Tags:Bridget McDyerDonegal Youth CouncilMayorlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *